Thursday 7th June

It was scrabble weather today.

The weather was really rubbish this morning, in fact, it was so glum when I got up this morning that I double checked the clock.

A couple of bored holiday makers came in asking if we had had a scrabble game to buy, which was a first. We have Snakes & Ladders, Ludo, and Draughts etc. but had never been asked for scrabble before.

 I did suggest a jigsaw puzzle but they had already been in to buy one of those.

Several other customers mentioned that they were going back home to sit in front of the fire – yes it’s June – and they still were needing a fire. One other customer had just ordered a delivery of logs!

When I came back from lunch there was a youth in the shop who had just bought a single 1st class stamp. He was given one of the Diamond Jubilee stamps with a photograph of the Queen on it.

He looked a tad confused as it was not self-adhesive and asked “What do I do with this as I’ve only ever used stamps out of a book?”

“Lick it my son, lick it – and then stick it on your envelope”

Have you bought your Olympic tickets yet?

It’s not easy as I found out when I was asked by a friend to get some tickets for the women’s football at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff.

I did tell him that the females do not swap shirts at the end of the game but he insisted he wanted to go.

When I finally logged on, second time as had forgotten the password, I made the purchase and went to pay. Guess what, you can only pay with a Visa card! 

My main debit and credit cards are both MasterCard so I had to rummage around to find some plastic with Visa on it. Luckily I had one with some money on it so made the purchase.

Don’t you think it’s ludicrous how Visa can control what we can and can’t pay with?

 I gather that Visa have insisted the hole in the wall machines in the Olympic village are only theirs and it won’t serve non visa customers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

