Thursday 6th September

Image

It was the first day at a new school today for some Bampton children as they got aboard the bus for Tiverton High School.

For some strange reason the non-first years were not expected at school until 11:30.

How parents sort this out is beyond me. I presume they expect the children to be driven there.

A few of the older ones decided to go on the school bus at 8:30 anyway to solve the problem.

The first years knew their place as the older ones clambered on to the bus first.

Tomorrow morning will be a bigger test for the new ones when all the kids go together.

A young lady, about 20, came in and asked for 3 first class stamps which she then stuck on her envelopes.

I said “Shall I take them from you and put them in my post bag?”

“No thank you as I like to post them in the box outside and give them a kiss as I do”.

“It’s a girlie thing” she said.

A couple of older ladies, over 20 by quite a lot, were chatting later about the things they used to do as a child.

“I used to make mud pies and dry them out on top of the Anderson shelter, http://www.spartacus.schoolnet.co.uk/2WWandersonshelter.htm then decorate them with daisies and buttercups. A neighbour then used to buy them from me for a ha’penny.”

“I used to cook bacon and eggs on top of a biscuit tin but never told my mother”

A family came in and were looking at the toys with their small children.

They decided on a water pistol that draws water into a tube then you just point and push.

They couldn’t wait until they got home so were outside filling up in the leet.

Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

