Tuesday 15th January

After yesterday’s reference to Condom in the blog it was a great coincidence that one of our first customers came in to post something to France.

He said, choosing his words carefully “Can I post this letter for France please” with a grin on his face.

 

Just before I finished my break for lunch I could hear a car alarm sounding and as I went to the Fruit and Veg shop I could see it was a Range Rover sort of thing parked outside the Post Office.

The alarm kept going off and as I returned to the shop I could see the owner stood alongside so I wondered why he had not switched it off.

I unloaded my fruit and vegetables in the kitchen then returned to the shop where the owner of the vehicle was borrowing our phone to call the AA.

Evidently, when he put the key into the ignition it set the alarm off.

The AA said they were on their way and the chap left the shop.

After about an hour I realised that he was sat in his vehicle still waiting for the AA.

I went out to see if he wanted a drink of tea or coffee while he waited.

He said he didn’t want a drink and he was fine as he was reading his Kindle to pass the time.

He did then say “I just started the engine and it worked fine bit I had better wait for the AA as they are due shortly.”

The AA in disguise then turned up.

Image

After 20 minutes, the chap came to the window and said thanks for helping him but shrugged his shoulders to suggest that the fault had not been identified but had gone away.

Another of life’s mysteries, I guess.

Last night I was getting lots of tweets with the hash tag SBS but nobody explained what it was all about so I had a look for myself.

  • Small Business Sunday, shortened to the hash tag (#SBS) on Twitter, was created by Theo Paphitis in October 2010. Theo is best known for his star role in TV’s Dragons’ Den. He is Chairman of Ryman Stationery plus Boux Avenue lingerie and joint owner of Red Letter Days. Theo is also a mentor and investor to many other businesses.
  • Each week Theo rewards small businesses that tweet him @TheoPaphitis and describe their business in one tweet including the all-important hash tag #SBS. Only tweets made in the time slot between 5.00 PM and 7.30 PM on Sundays count.
  • The tweets to @TheoPaphitis #SBS are reviewed and each week Theo chooses his favourite lucky six who he then re-tweets on Monday evenings at 8.00 PM. As he has over a quarter of a million followers, this can provide a massive boost to the chosen businesses.

One of the chosen 6 this week is the Swan in Bampton http://www.theopaphitissbs.com/

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

