Sunday 10th February

The weather did its best to spoil my Sunday as my planned day racing at Exeter was only given the go ahead at 10 o’clock.

It was good to see queues at the burger vans after all the recent publicity.

Image

Even in the presence of horses they still were tucking into the burgers.

The big racing clash of the day was two horses destined for the Cheltenham Festival.

The favourite was Puffin Billy who had won his races very easily but had not raced against top class horses.

The other horse in the head to head clash was Melodic Rendezvous, owned by 4 chaps, a couple of then having a business in Bampton.

As the horse went by me in the parade ring it gave me a nod and a wink so a little investment was made.

Image

The Bampton Boys horse swept past the favourite over the final hurdle and won by seven lengths and all roads now point to Cheltenham in March. http://www.racingpost.com/news/horse-racing/exeter-puffin-billy-grounded-by-melodic-rendezvous/1201778/latest/#newsArchiveTabs=last7DaysNews 

Image

The horse got a big cheer on its return as not only were the owners leaping up and down but also there was a fan club with them surrounding the winner’s enclosure.

The owners collected their prize and went off to the racecourse offices for their celebratory champagne.

Image

Although I am an annual member of the racecourse I took advantage of the Racing UK hospitality in a private room where they provided free tea and coffee and the presenters gave us some tips prior to racing.

Their tips were rubbish so I was glad I stuck to my own selections.

One thing to note is that when there is FREE tea and coffee the consumption goes off the scale.

I managed 3 cups during the afternoon whereas I would struggle to buy one if I had to pay for it.

 

When I got home we went to the Exeter Inn for our Sunday meal.

 

Several people were in the far bar and we were deciding whether to eat in the main bar or the restaurant when all of a sudden we were invaded by the Melodic Rendezvous owners and hangers on.

Image

Tim & Jayne were probably expecting a quiet night in the pub but were then happy to provide meals and drinks (plenty) to over 30 people.

When we left about 7:30 it was starting to get very lively so I will ask Tim for the full SP when I see him tomorrow.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

