Friday 15th March

A regular came in this morning and withdrew some money from her account.

She said that it would last her over the weekend.

The then went on to say that Sunday is a non-spending day.

I knew she was a church goer so I said “What about the collection on Sunday?”

Evidently I am behind the times as she has a standing order for the church so does not have to put into the collection.

I said “How do they know you have a standing order when they pass round the plate?”

“I wear this on my sleeve” she replied.

 Image

Standing order for God?

 

It was the Cheltenham Gold Cup today and when I was watching the coverage they mentioned it was 30 years to the day since Michael Dickinson trained the first five home.

It reminded me that in those days when there were no mobile phones or PC’s to watch the race in the office.

I had to sneak off to the Computer Operators rest room where they had a TV to watch the race. When I got to the room there were already about 10 others on the same mission including one of the directors!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Friday 15th March

  1. Jim Fisher says:

    I’m a recent discoverer of your blog – I love the little stories about customer’s quirks, etc. Will soon be moving to Bampton, but sad I won’t get to but my stamps from you.
    Jim

  2. Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you writing this
    post and the rest of the website is really good.

  3. Graig says:

    Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely useful info specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such information much. I was seeking this certain information for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  4. Can I just say what a relief to find a person that really understands what they are talking about on the web.

    You definitely know how to bring a problem to light and make it important.
    More and more people really need to look at
    this and understand this side of your story. It’s surprising you are not more popular since you definitely have the gift.

Leave a Reply

